the Radical Reformission–Part 1: Who is Mark Driscoll?

In preparation for the upcoming Convergent Conference at SEBTS, and in respect of a dear member of my church, I decided it was time to read “the RADICAL reformission: reaching out without selling out.”

radical-reformission-logo.gif Check it out at Zondervan.com

So before we discuss the very interesting, challenging, and slightly controversial book, let’s look at the man behind the curtain, Mark Driscoll.

Mark Driscoll, as his blog states, “is the founder of Mars Hill Church (1996), the Paradox Theater, the Acts 29 Network, and the Resurgence Missional Theology Cooperative. Most enjoyably, Mark is the father of three sons and two daughters.” After reading his book, it is evident that his children are important to him, and that the process of conceiving children is as well–for very important theological reasons. We can talk about that later.

His influence is expanding through his local church and through the Acts 29 Church Planting Network. You can get information about both here. He is the unofficial spokesman for the conservative (I wonder if he would like me saying this) end of the emerging church spectrum. I label him conservative because he is unapologetically evangelical. He may be called liberal because of his seeming looseness in regards to debatable issues, but he is for Truth. Notice the capital “T”. He is also for the gospel, and he teaches that the gospel ought to mean something in your life. This wholistic view of life fits well with me–it certainly is “A Mission-Driven Life.”

Mark is also a powerful preacher who speaks very well. He is a word-smith, as you will agree from reading his work. He preached one of my favorite sermons on the crucifixion. I can’t link to it, since I have it on CD, but I’m sure with some creative searching, you will find it.

Yet he is also unconventional. He is not trying to be a rebel, but trying to appeal to the lost masses around him. I think if you listen closely to what he has to say, you will not be dissappointed.

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Wes,

    Welcome back to the blogging world. I doubt I will be posting at the old blog. Alas, it is pretty much forgotten.

    I looke forward to your posting about Mark Driscoll here. I can’t read everything and I know that you are pretty fair in your summation of books. Don’t fail me! 🙂

    I’ll be reading other books in preperation for the conference.

    BTW, Nathan doesn’t post at his old site.

  2. Actually, I stand corrected. Nathan does post at his old site. That punk, he never told me! 🙂 Now I’ve got to add him to my blogroll. 😉

    Also, I love your picture. I need to get rid of this old John Owen picture and get something cool like that! Especially since I know what your picture is.

  3. AHHHH. I lost everything I had typed. Work Internet Service. bah humbug.

    Anyway, I am looking forward to seeing what Nathan has in store for his blog!

    Also, I’m looking forward to when you’ll begin posting. I want to talk about mutual discipleship here a little bit, but I’m waiting for you to start it off, and I’m waiting to review some other books I have lined up for myself.

    Hey, post on the old blog for people to visit here. If you don’t mind. Might as well keep some continuity. I can’t access the blog anymore unless I become son of google. I’m already friend of dougald, so son of google sounds scary to me. Especially since google is trying to take over the world!!!!

  4. Wes,

    A few things. First, (not firstly) you probably have never heard Dr. Nelson speak on the fact that you should never start with a “firstly.” :0

    Second, I’ll post on the old one and tell them to come here and to mine. 🙂

    Third, either you are really excited about blogging, or you’ve broken that covenant you signed. You have got to be smoking something with that last paragraph. Google…Dougald, it gets old. 🙂 It’s almost like people who use those expressions like 😦 or 😉

    Oh well. 🙂

  5. Oh, I start with my reflections on Monday. So, I think it will be within the next week or two that I get to mutual discipleship. :))

    Just trying to figure out these expressions.

  6. Hello my friends 🙂
    😉

Comments are closed.

