Nomad: The Warrior

Just in case you didn’t catch it in the theatres, and I seriously doubt you did unless you were in Central Asia last year, I want to recommend to you a movie–Nomad: The Warrior. Find it on Amazon here, or on Blockbuster here.

nomad.jpg

No, I am not starting a series of posts on movies or other cultural entities I would recommend. But I want you to rent, buy, or watch this movie because it relates something that is very dear to my heart–Kazakh Culture.

You see, my wife is ethnically Kazakh, from Kazakhstan. So, it has given me a closer glimpse into all the things my wife holds dear. But don’t let the title, or the movie cover, fool you. I think they were trying too hard to make it have street appeal to Americans who might come across it. Perhaps they should have given it a subtitle, though in 6pt grayscale font on the back cover, “Take this Borat.”

Yet, this movie did not meet the approval of Kazakhstan President Nursultan Nazarbayev because of its Western actors (though many in the movie are Kazakh) and because it was filmed in English (though you can hear it in Kazakh with English subtitles, which I would definitely recommend). Nonetheless, it clearly and artisticly portrays an event in Kazakh folk history. Not that folk history is bad, but that much of Kazakh history is oral history. And in Kazakh history, the great warrior heros are the focal point. You will find their monuments, masoleums, and statues scattered across Kazakhstan.

Either way, you will understand a lot of Kazakh culture from this movie. And it is rather well-done. So, please watch this movie and let me know what you think.

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I will be checking this one out. Thanks for the recommendation.

  2. Thanks man! And we can hear it in Kazakh. What a great language learning tool.

  3. Hey, Wes! I accidentally happened upon your blog, and was surprised and happy to see it was you!

    I’ve been showing this movie to folks as we’ve traveled around, and it really does give people an open window into Kazakh culture.

    I didn’t realize the Prez didn’t like this film… interesting.

    See you guys later!
    Your Qubala,
    Nathan

  4. Nathan,

    Honestly, I don’t know for a fact that the prez didn’t like it, but that is what I gather from others. So, I wish I could back it up, but…

    It is interesting that its connected to a Kazakh gov agency.

  5. Thanks for the heads up about this movie. I’ve seen the box for it at the video store many times, but figured it was a cheap knock off of 300 because the cover looks very similar. I’ll check it out.

  6. hi
    found your weblog by chance
    i just did an almost extensive review about this movie in my wordpress, i thought you might like to read it?
    if you do, dont forget to comment and point out errors if there are any.
    thanks in advance

  7. BTW,

    Just got it via netflix. I’ll be checking it out tomorow with some friends.

Comments are closed.

