East African Revival – New Academic Resources

Any time I step into the library at Southeastern, I take a few minutes to peruse the newly acquired section. They have four shelves full of books that have been recently purchased or donated to the library. For a theological library, Southeastern is very aggressive in keeping its book selection up-to-date. Today I came across an academic resource on the East African Revival that I wanted to share with you.

The book is entitled “The East African Revival: History and Legacies” edited by Kevin Ward and Emma Wild-Wood. I haven’t read this yet, but it would be a great resource for any academic study of the revival.

This led me to discover another book to be released this Fall on the revival.

This book is entitled “Ethnic Patriotism and the East African Revival” by Derek Peterson. From the product description, this will be an interesting read, showing how the revival transformed persons view of tradition, tribe, and culture.

I have several posts on this blog about the revival. Some have received quite a bit of traffic from brothers and sisters in East Africa. Here is a link to all of my posts on this subject: Revival – East Africa. See in particular my post on “Looking for Sources” for the most interaction from African Christians.

